Democrats voted last weekend to say goodbye to Iowa as the first state on their presidential nomination schedule, a move likely to end the state’s nearly 50-year history leading up to the Democratic race for president.

Iowa has had a strong record of electing Democratic candidates who ultimately win the party’s nomination: Jimmy Carter, Walter Mondale, Al Gore, John Kerry, Barack Obama, and Hillary Clinton won the Iowa caucuses the year their party elected them as their presidential candidate.

But that was not the case in 2020, when Democrat Pete Buttigieg finally won a caucus bogged down by technology mishaps that delayed the release of results for days. It was that mishap, along with concerns by many Democrats about a lack of diversity among the electorate choosing winners in each of the first two nominated states (Iowa and New Hampshire) that helped pave the way for the vote this weekend. of week.

To learn more about the Democrats’ history with the Iowa caucus and how it has influenced key presidential races over the years, check out this deep dive ahead of the 2020 caucus written by NBC News and the National Political Correspondent for MSNBC, Steve Kornacki.